stumbleupon toolbar
Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!
This site is up for
Count
Get Firefox!
Last Shout - Posted by: dingetje - Wednesday, 25 April 2012 13:17
http://freesco.sourceforge.net/

  Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

> Howto make FREESCO 03x boot from CD, by tom
dingetje
Posted: Dec 23 2003, 02:33 PM
Quote Post


Administrator
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 713
Member No.: 1
Joined: 24-August 02



QUOTE
This is a mirror of a howto posted by tom on the official forum at http://forums.freesco.org/

Dingetje


This is how I make Freesco bootable from cdrom. It's partially based on Deoren's how-to (thanks Deoren!) but mostly it was alot of googling and trial and error.

The Freesco box that I used has Freesco 032 and Win98 running on /dev/hdb1 and the cdrom is on /dev/hdc. Yours might be different.

Things you'll need:
  • Freesco box with a cdrom installed
  • Freesco installed to the hard drive
  • Knoppix ( http://knoppix.net )... a "live" linux distro that runs straight off the cdrom
  • Access to a cd burner (it doesn't have to be on your Freesco box)
First you'll need to setup Freesco so everything works fine and move it to your harddrive.

Next, you need to install a kernel that has cdrom support (i usually use #5 from lightnings kernel-1.3-lightning package).

now, install any packages that you want (mc...)

When you're finished, put your Knoppix cd in the drive and reboot. I type in "knoppix 2" at the boot prompt so it doesn't boot to the desktop.

mount your Freesco drive

CODE

mount -t umsdos -o rw /dev/hdb1 /mnt/hdb1


setup our working environment

CODE

mkdir /mnt/hdb1/freesco
mkdir /mnt/hdb1/freesco/oldram
mkdir /mnt/hdb1/freesco/newram


copy the ramdisk to our working environment (and rename it)

CODE

cp /mnt/hdb1/router/ramdisk /mnt/hdb1/freesco/ram1.gz


unzip it

CODE

gunzip /mnt/hdb1/freesco/ram1.gz


mount it as a loop device so we can modify it

CODE

mount -o loop /mnt/hdb1/freesco/ram1 /mnt/hdb1/freesco/oldram


now we have to edit /mnt/hdb1/freesco/oldram/etc/rc (I use "mc")

change line #42 from "bd Mounting -t umsdos" to "bd Mounting -t iso9660"
comment out line #53 (umssync -g 99 -u 99 -r 99 -v- boot /dev/null)
save the file and exit

If you want to add files to the ramdisk, now's the time to do it but I suggest making it bigger though first.

CODE

dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/hdb1/freesco/ram2 bs=1M count=4


format the new ramdisk

CODE

mke2fs /mnt/hdb1/freesco/ram2


mount it

CODE

mount -o loop /mnt/hdb1/freesco/ram2 /mnt/hdb1/freesco/newram


copy everything from the old ramdisk to the new one

CODE

cp -a /mnt/hdb1/freesco/oldram/* /mnt/hdb1/freesco/newram


unmount both of them

CODE

umount /mnt/hdb1/freesco/oldram
umount /mnt/hdb1/freesco/newram


gzip the new ramdisk

CODE

gzip -9 /mnt/hdb1/freesco/ram2


move it to the "router" directory and rename it as "ramdisk.cd"

CODE

mv /mnt/hdb1/freesco/ram2.gz /mnt/hdb1/router/ramdisk.cd


Now we need to make the isolinux directory to hold the boot files

CODE

mkdir /mnt/hdb1/isolinux


Now we need to locate the "isolinux.bin" file (included in Knoppix)

CODE

locate isolinux


I used Knoppix 3.2 and found isolinux.bin at "/usr/lib/isolinux/isolinux.bin"

copy it to the isolinux directory you just created

CODE

cp /usr/lib/isolinux/isolinux.bin /mnt/hdb1/isolinux


now we need to make a isolinux.cfg file in /mnt/hdb1/isolinux

here's what it needs to have

CODE

default freesco initrd=/router/ramdisk.cd vga=0 ramdisk_size=128000 BOOTDEV=hdc root=/dev/ram0 panic=15
append initrd=/router/ramdisk.cd ramdisk_size=128000 BOOTDEV=hdc root=/dev/ram0 vga=0 panic=15
label freesco
 kernel /router/kernel
 append initrd=/router/ramdisk.cd vga=0 ramdisk_size=128000 BOOTDEV=hdc root=/dev/ram0 panic=15


now we make the bootable iso image

CODE

mkisofs -pad -l -r -J -v -V "Freesco" -o /mnt/hdb1/freesco.iso -b isolinux/isolinux.bin -c isolinux/boot.cat -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -boot-info-table /mnt/hdb1


since I don't have a burner in my Freesco box, I reboot into win98 and copy c:\freesco.iso to a shared folder and copy it to another computer to burn it but you could also reboot into your hard drive install of Freesco and copy the iso image to your ftp folder.

Tom


--------------------
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
dingetje
  Posted: Mar 4 2004, 03:33 PM
Quote Post


Administrator
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 713
Member No.: 1
Joined: 24-August 02



Here's the original thread on the official forum:

http://forums.freesco.org/support/index.ph...t=ST&f=6&t=9824

A few things have been added to this thread, one of which is an automated script to make an ISO using a bootable Knoppix CD and your own harddisk based FREESCO. Check it out!


good work tom! master.gif




--------------------
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
dingetje
  Posted: Apr 15 2004, 10:01 AM
Quote Post


Administrator
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 713
Member No.: 1
Joined: 24-August 02



Here is even more about the FREESCO CD Project.




--------------------
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
Guest
Posted: May 19 2004, 07:41 PM
Quote Post


Unregistered









Interesting how to. Couple of questions: 1) using part of this method, could one create a Freesco image that runs from the ext2 filesystem? One of the steps involves editing a boot script that tells what file system is being mounted, after all (edited from umsdos to iso9660), and the newly created ramdisk is formatted ext2fs. If one changed that iso9660 to ext2 and then, after having copied the whole ramdisk over to ram2, renamed /router/ramdisk to /router/ramdisk.old and ram2 to /router/ramdisk, the wouldn't one have Freesco running in an ext2 (ramdisk) on the next reboot? 2) making this CD, one could use Freesco - in either UML or some emulator like Bochs or Vmware - as a firewall that runs within another Linux distro, correct?

James
Top
Guest
Posted: May 19 2004, 07:47 PM
Quote Post


Unregistered









Oops. Forgot a 3rd question: 3) what's the size of the ramdisk? Does 128000 mean 12MB, 128MB? The zeroes tend to get me confused.

James
Top
dingetje
Posted: Jun 7 2004, 07:48 PM
Quote Post


Administrator
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 713
Member No.: 1
Joined: 24-August 02



Guest (who ever you are), I suggest you post your questions on the forum that is hosting the CD howto.

Sorry I cannot help you further.

If you're interrested in running FREESCO on a virtual PC, check out the official forum at http://www.freesco.org/support-forum/ because there are some Bochs images (made by tom) to be downloaded for a FREESCO 03x box. Do a search for Bochs and ye shall find.


--------------------
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
dingetje
Posted: Feb 17 2006, 01:17 PM
Quote Post


Administrator
*****

Group: Admin
Posts: 713
Member No.: 1
Joined: 24-August 02





--------------------
PMEmail PosterUsers WebsiteICQ
Top
0 User(s) are reading this topic (0 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

Topic Options Reply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

 



[ Script Execution time: 0.3846 ]   [ 11 queries used ]   [ GZIP Enabled ]   [ Server Load: 0.42 ]


FREESCO WebRing
The FREESCO Router WebRing
[ Join Now | Ring Hub | Random | << Prev | Next >> ]

Nedstat Basic - Gratis web site statistieken
Eigen homepage website teller


MKPortal ©2003-2006 mkportal.it
Page generated in 0.3519 seconds with 13 queries